Covers of the Week: Sept. 16th

Hello Revuers! It’s time for another installment on Covers of the Week. This segment is where I pick my favorite regular cover and variant cover of the week. This week provided a plethora of choices as great covers abounded. However, I narrowed it down to what I feel are the best covers. Of course art is subjective so if you disagree with me please let me know in the comments below.

 

My favorite cover of the week is:

The Forevers #1

687472_eb0d3c8e528faae46ccfa2f40938fa457577360e

This cover by Eric Pfeiffer is simply breathtaking. I love the painted appearance of the cover and the color choices are on point. I love the brush work on the waves which make them seem like they are alive and moving. In fact the brush work on the clouds is the same way. It makes the whole cover seem very dynamic and not stagnate. The series written by Curt Pires is about 5 friends who make a black magic pact in order to gain fame. What follows next is a well crafted thriller comic that I recommend you pick up.

 

My favorite variant cover is:

All-Star Batman #2

689944_all-star-batman-2-shalvey-variant-cover

This variant cover by Declan Shalvey is very indicative of what happens in this issue. All-Star Batman #2 features Batman and two face on a train fighting multiple villains. This cover has two face and Batman on a train heading through a tunnel with another train in the background carrying other mysterious figures. I love the positioning of Batman in the sky over the train by Shalvey. It  makes Batman seem menacing without seeming evil. I also liked the touch of Two Face’s coins bouncing away from him. Implying that he may be out of luck. The story by Scott Snyder with interiors by John Romita Jr. continues on from issue 1 with Batman and Two Face continuing their cross country trip, with Batman facing death at every turn. If you haven’t been reading this series I strongly recommend you pick it up and start now. It’s not something you want to miss.

 

Was your favorite cover on the list? If not tell me what your favorite of the week was in the comment section below!

 

2 thoughts on “Covers of the Week: Sept. 16th

Leave a Reply

